On Disney’s legacy

Carlos Albuquerque
1 min readDec 19, 2023

So the spectacle has come and gone. Once Upon A Studio celebrated the 100 years milestone with grace, while Wish did so with disappointment and playing it absurdly safe (barring the credits sequence, I openly admit crying at that). I have so many feelings about this that I might as well be a bonfire, each flame a different opinion.

Of course there’s nostalgia. It’s hard not to when even the more obscure, less financially successful movies were given a spotlight. Considering some of those movies were self-saboutaged by Disney (such as Brother Bear, to give an excuse for the shift to 3D, or Strange World, due to its LGBT representation), they damn well earned it. But even my enjoyment has been tempered by the horrific actions Disney has commit across time, from their bullying of Felix Salten to the endorsement of Uyghur genocide in China.

Most of all, I feel sad and embittered, my own entrance into the world of animation complicated and ungodly hard. Yet, I do still have hope, and these two milestones amplify both feelings.

Maybe we oughta celebrate Pannonia Studios’ anniversary.

--

--